The Department of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) is one of the major academic units of the Lalon University of Science and Arts, operates under the School of Science and Technology. It plays a vital role in producing IT professionals to serve the new and fast-growing knowledge-based industry in addition to the manufacturing, business and financial sectors. The department offers B.Sc. in CSE (Bachelor of Science in Computer Science and Engineering) program where courses are conducted utilizing advanced technology with an emphasis on hands-on-training. It requires students to have a solid foundation in computer software, hardware, and theory, but also gives each student ample opportunity to take advanced electives in areas of computer science such as advanced databases, natural language processing etc., or in emerging interdisciplinary areas such as bioinformatics, ANN etc. Students have to complete required foundation, core, elective courses and general education courses. Elective courses provide foundation support for the student’s specialization area. With academicians with excellent work experience and impressive credentials, multimedia-based classrooms and laboratories equipped with state-of-the-art facilities, the students are assured of high-quality education, suited for the evolving era.



The university operates a round the year admission system divided into semesters i.e. Spring (January-June) and Fall (July-December). The students are required to fulfill the university admission requirement besides the UGC guidelines. The admission forms and relevant information can be collected from the Admission Office. Completed applications together with required documents should be submitted to the Admission Office as per deadlines. For convenience, the admission office is also open on Fridays and Saturdays besides the normal university working hours.


For students under National Curriculum:

  • Minimum GPA 2.50 in both SSC and HSC or equivalent.

For students from English Medium Schools:

  • 0-level: at least 5 courses
  • A-level: at least 2 courses

In the above two examinations at least four subjects among seven subjects must have B grade or GPA 4.0 (out of 5.0) and in remaining three subjects must have C grade or GPA 3.5 (out of 5)